Exercise: Visualizing your ideas

The next exercise to work on is the design of a leaflet for an organization, inviting people to volunteer for a task.

Part one of my design process was to decide what kind of organization / even this would be. I decided to go with a fashion charity event asking for designers to donate designs / pieces for a fashion show, in which all the proceeds will go to support a worthy cause.

After deciding what I would be designing for, I decided to create a mood board on Pinterest that allowed me to quickly skim through an array of brochure & leaflet ideas, as well as to narrow down the designs that I personally felt more fitting to the overall theme of my design project.

FullSizeRender

The next phase was to sketch out a few thumbnails in my sketchbook, in order to finalize my idea and get started in the mock-up phase.
After jotting down some ideas in pencil, I began to take into consideration that the leaflet would be for a charity organization, which means that there wouldn’t be much money in the budget, especially if we’re asking for volunteers / people to do things for the organization.

With that in mind, I kept my leaflet idea rather simple, since the more intricate the design, the higher the costs would be for the customer.
Since I had no printer available to me, I created my mock-up using an A4 sheet of paper and a china marker.
I decided to go with the simple accordion fold of a catwalk. The “runway models” on the would be cut around, to make the leaflet a little 3-D when standing up (as seen in the first photo below, left).

The title would fit nicely above the models’ heads, and when illustrated, would be made to look like a runway sign.
As each fold is opened, more and more information is revealed in a logical order (about the organization, what the fashion show’s aims are, why we’re looking for designers, and how they can submit their designs to us).
The invitations themselves would be sent per post in black envelopes (suggesting a black tie event) with gold lining. The models would photographs from the previous year (this is a yearly event). The materials used should be a little more costly to make the affair seem more upper-class, in order to attract new people / designers to the event; if the leaflets came across as cheaply made, we run the risk of no one taking the even seriously.

I found turning my ideas into visuals challenging. It definitely made me take a longer time to think over what exactly it was that I was doing, since I knew I had to try to create a physical mock-up.
Enjoyable was using Pinterest to create a mood board and have a collective space for me to get a quick glance at my inspiration. This also gave me a quicker way to see others’ mock-ups and have a more realistic idea of what I was looking at, to see if it would transfer over well to my project.

I would definitely like to take this design further later on and see what I could do with it in Illustrator and InDesign.

Leave a Reply

