Reasearch Point (self-criticism)

Being self-critical is something I’m no stranger to, I feel. I see it as a chance for me to look over over my work before allowing anyone else to see it.
Although I do this often (in fact, the more I go back and look at sketches and prior projects, the more I dislike them and see things I really need to change in order for me to be happy), I feel like it does hinder me in some regards.
I feel that I need to eventually be happy with my work, but that’s mostly not the case. I tend to put too much pressure on myself to make things look great, which leads me to feel as if I don’t really have anything that I’d like to show anyone or turn in for this course (the postcards, in retrospect don’t really incorporate everything I’d like them to; the book covers, I feel, are mediocre and could be done a third time).

However, part of what I’m hoping to overcome during my studies in visual communications is the internal nagging that my work isn’t good enough. Being in a program, from my perspective, gives me the drive to accomplish something, rather than eventually give up on it. I do still need to reach a point, however, where it doesn’t take ages to complete a project or assignment, since life as a graphic designer / illustrator is full of deadlines.
But this is only the first course in many.

I do have the ability to let friends and colleagues critique my work, which also helps immensely with the insecure feelings. Even if I may disagree with the comments, having multiple sets of eyes look over my work(s) gives me, more often than not, the confirmation that I am going in the right direction with what I want to achieve (based on each individual project / assignment).

Leave a Reply

